PDA

View Full Version : The real deal on Shamrocks - Keel vs Pocket Drive??

Squid Row
06-17-2003, 03:13 PM
Hello.
I have been harassing Gavin via email for a while now, and finally decided to post on here and save him from answering a bunch of my questions.

First a brief intro. I have been boating for about 24 years and my last boat was a Seapro 21 WA, prior to that a Grady White 20 footer with I/O. I love to fish offshore, but now have two young children to consider when choosing my next ride.

I am all but convinced that my next boat is going to be a Shamrock in the 20 - 24 foot range and that is what has lead me to this wonderful site.

What are the pros and cons of the pocket drive vs. the keel drive in boats of this size? I will be looking for a used WA this fall, are there any model years or engine types to be weary of? I plan to hire a surveyor no matter what and from the looks of the classified ads will likely be travelling up North to make my final purchase.

I have searched on the hull truth, the wmi pop up page :) , and all over the web for info on Shamrocks. Heck, I even read Pascoes hatchet job but I am still certain that this line of boats is right for me. After all, who would you trust more.. Pascoe or Gavin? :D

Any info, tips, suggestions, criticisms, or what to look out fors are greatly appreciated.

Hav'nfun
06-18-2003, 05:26 PM
I'm surprised no one has responded yet. This being the case, here are my observations and opinion. With two small children, the smallest boat I recommend is the 220WAC. The 220's are keel boats as opposed to the 246 pocket drives.

It has a small cuddy cabin which can sleep two if they are under 6' and a porta-pottie. The helm seat does fold down and is big enough to sleep two children, head to foot, as my children have done it.